Kindle’s Human-Centered Design: A Modern Reading Experience That Reduces Friction

Yuna Shin
3 min readApr 20, 2020

Growing up, the struggle to return public library books was all too real. For starters, it was a hassle to remember when to pick up or return books, I couldn’t mark up the pages, and there was always a limited selection on-site. With Amazon, it has become easier to purchase books with 2-day shipping but overtime it becomes impractical financially and detrimental for the environment. Last year, I invested in a Kindle Paperwhite and since then I’ve become an informal spokesperson for it. Before that, I nodded my head in doubt alongside other avid book readers. No way could an E-reader be better than holding an actual book. I was skeptical until I used one myself.

Flexible Place-onas

Lately, my mom’s eyesight has been affecting her ability to comfortably read a book. The text is either too small or the lighting is too dark. With the Kindle, she can adjust the screen brightness, font size, typeface, line spacing, and margins that best suits her. This form of inclusive design enables people like my mom to adjust the text size and screen brightness accordingly. When I read for long periods of time, I personally find the electronic ink display that mimics ink on paper to be easier on my eyes than backlit LCD-based tablets. It’s convenient to adjust the screen brightness when…

--

--

Yuna Shin

Designer. Seattle based writer who connects the dots between design, contemporary art, & pop culture. yuna-shin.com. Subscribe to my newsletter↓